Gluten Free Chicken & Waffles.

20140410-153351.jpg

 

I am in the process of turning my New York raised (Yankee) of a roommate into a Southern Girl. Not only have I been reading to her from Grits {Girls Raised in the South} Guide to Life, but I’ve also been slowly and surely introducing her to the fantastic flavors of the South. It took one day to convert her to grits. She actually asked for them this morning! And I had her at the very smells of my fried chicken. (Check out my blog devoted to my fried chicken, here)

Because of the fact that we are both gluten free, making this beloved dish was a bit more of a challenge. But not one I was afraid of. It turned out beautifully. I was quite impressed. The only thing that I changed about my original fried chicken recipe is that instead of regular flour, I used a gluten free, all purpose flour that I got at Trader Joes. I was pleased with the results, other than the fact that the coating was a little tough, not crunchy, tough. But I think it will do! I also fried it in coconut oil, so that may have something to do with it!

The waffles came out quite well, though, I think I’ll keep tweaking the recipe until I am satisfied.

Gluten Free Waffles

1 Cup All Purpose Gluten Free Flour

3/4 Cup Almond, Coconut, or Regular Milk

1 Egg

2 Tablespoons Coconut Oil, Melted

1/2 Teaspoon Salt

2 Teaspoons Baking Powder

Mix it all together, let set for 5 minutes. Pour onto waffle iron. Slather in butter and honey and enjoy!!

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Chicken & Waffles.

Leave a Reply

