Vegan – Gluten Free – Raw – Dehydrated Kale Chips

20140326-190030.jpg

Today, I ventured into the beautiful and dangerous world of dehydrated kale chips. I purchased some locally made ones down in Wilmington last week and paid the grand sum of $7 for about a quart of deliciously curried kale chips. This variety is definitely my favorite. And at one point on my way from North Carolina to Virginia, I had to stop the car and lock them in my trunk. No lie. So it got me thinking that it cannot be that difficult to make these, right? I have made them before, but used the kale from our garden, which was flat and had the soft texture of spinach and I baked them. Which took a lot of the nutrients out of them. So. I have a week to kill in Virginia, why not dive into this delicious treat and see what comes of it!!

My kale Chips turned out beautifully and I will be making another batch this week, this time with the curry. It cost me about $2 in ingredients and about 20 minutes of prep time. You will need a dehydrator. My dad has a pretty cheap one that worked quite beautifully. I did try a small batch of these in the oven and it was unanimous that the dehydrated ones were far superior in taste and texture.

Here’s what you need!

1 Pound of Curly Kale

1/2 Cup Nuts or Seeds (I used a mix of half almonds, half sunflower seeds)

2 Tablespoons Olive Oil

1 Teaspoon Chili Powder

1 Teaspoon Cumin

1/2 Small Onion

3 Cloves Garlic

1/2 Teaspoon Salt

1/2 Teaspoon Fresh Cracked Pepper

You can do one of two things either soak your seeds/nuts overnight in about 2 cups of water. Or soak them for about 2 hours in 2 cups boiling water. When your nuts/seeds have soaked you are ready to rumble. Tear your kale off of the stem and into “bite size” pieces, remember that it will shrink almost to half it’s size, so don’t make it too small or it just crumbles. I saved the stems to throw into smoothies! {Don’t waste anything!!}

20140326-185911.jpg

 

Next, drain your nuts/seeds and combine with all of the other ingredients in a blender {hello Vitamix!}.

Blend until smooth. And then pour onto kale. Now comes the messy part Give that kale a good massage with the funky onion mixture. At this point I had some serious doubts because it smelled awful. (I do not like raw onion). Make sure that it is well mixed. I had some pieces that had way too much “sauce”. Should look like this!

20140326-190000.jpg

All you have left to do is place it on the dehydrator trays, making sure it’s in a single layer. Turn the dehydrator onto 120 degrees and let it be for about 4 hours. Your chips are done when they are golden brown and all the way crispy! Enjoy!

20140326-190018

One thought on “Vegan – Gluten Free – Raw – Dehydrated Kale Chips

Leave a Reply

