Sacred Mornings.

In our house, we have what I like to think of as sacred mornings. No particular day, but it is the day when everyone in the house is up at a semi reasonable hour and everyone is actually home. We actually drink a cup of coffee together, and we remember that we all actually like each other! My mom stays in her pj’s past 7:30, and delightful smells start wafting from the kitchen, because I have indeed gotten my cook on. Today, is one of those days.

It reminds me of a holiday, it reminds me of my childhood. The Saturday mornings of my childhood were definitely sacred. We got to eat in the living room. We got to eat bacon. We got to watch Bill Nye the Science Guy. We were awesome!

Being the old soul that I am, I have learned to cherish these beautiful days. Because one day, I won’t live with my family. One day, I won’t have the opportunity to fry 1 dozen eggs all at the same time. So, to you I say, Enjoy your family. Enjoy the sacred days, whatever they look like for you. My sacred days looks like 2 pounds of bacon, a dozen eggs, and a quart of grits. Southern style baby. Also. I would just like to say that if you aren’t cooking your grits with half and half, then you are doing it wrong. You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

