Gluten Free Green Bean Casserole

I have no pictures for you in this blog, because this recipe was so good that it was devoured the moment that it came out of the oven. We are huge holiday people. Thanksgiving and Christmas are sacred holidays, because we eat all day.

My sister recently discovered that she is severely gluten intolerant, and therefore, my cooking habits for family gatherings has greatly changed. Conquering green bean casserole was my first mountain, and what I came up with was a huge winner!! I used  green beans that I canned from the garden and I made my own french fried onions. We eat a lot of beans, so you could easily cut this in half.

Gluten Free Green Bean Casserole

2 quarts green beans

2 cups half n half

1/4 cup butter

1/4 cup finely chopped mushrooms (I used dehydrated ones but fresh work too)

1 teaspoon parsley

2 large onions

3/4 cup corn starch

oil for frying

In a medium sauce pan, melt butter. Add half n half, mushrooms & parsley. Slowly bring to a boil. Simmer for about 20 minutes. Add to green beans in a large baking dish.

Slice onions very finely, I use a mandolin. toss in the corn starch, & deep fry until golden brown. Toss half the onions with the green beans & reserve the rest. Bake beans at 350 for about 30 minutes, until sauce is thick. Sprinkle the remaining onions on top and bake for another 15 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

