Pumpkin Spice French Toast

20131002-215101.jpg

Ah. Praise the Holy One on the Throne. It is pumpkin spice everything season. I am in heaven. I am not even going to feel bad about the fact that I may or may not drink multiple pumpkin spice lattes in a day. Don’t judge me. You do irresponsible things too.

So. French toast. I am a SNOB about French toast. Not gonna lie about it. People use icky bread. They don’t mix the eggs well enough. They leave it soggy. And it tastes like cardboard. S. N. O. B. And I’m so okay with that. So. Here are my thoughts on French toast.

Start with good bread! My favorite right now is hearty artisan bread that is really crusty, can withstand a lot of egg. And it has a great flavor. Cut it about 3/4 inch thick. You need about 1 egg for every 2 slices of bread. BEAT YOUR EGGS WELL!!!!! There is nothing more unappealing than egg white not beat into the yolk well. I’m serious man! For every egg, add 1 tablespoon pumpkin purée, 1 tablespoon half & half and 1/4 teaspoon pumpkin spice seasoning. Soak your bread for a few seconds. You want it to soak up a lot of egg. Brown your bread in a skillet over medium low until it’s brown on both sides. Serve with lots of butter, maple syrup and powdered sugar. Enjoy my friends. You can thank me when you try it!

Leave a Reply

