The Italia Adventure.

I wholeheartedly believed people when they told me I would “have the bug” after traveling to Italy. I have been home for 10 days and I am itching to go back! I have so many wonderful things to write about pertaining to my phenomenal excursion to Italy, I shall try to keep my thoughts in a straight line. Try to bear with me. There were just so many details and tips for traveling in Europe for the first time. I loved everything about my trip. So here goes!

I have dreamed of Italy for as long as I can remember. Such a culinary and cultural experience. One that I was not disappointed in.

First of all, I Beat jet lag. If you ever go on an adventure like this. Just Bite the bullet, wake up early, go to bed early, and beat jet lag when you get there. You won’t regret it. We left the US of A at 7:30pm and landed in Rome at 10:30am. I took a ton of tylenol pm and slept the entire way, only to wake up 20 minutes before landing, bright eyed and bushy tailed. Zero jet lag. It was phenomenal! Also KLM (a Delta partner) is an incredible airline!

Our first day in Rome was like finding myself in a new life. Rome is HUGE! There is so much to see and to do. We decided to not do any organized tours, something that now we are SO thankful that we decided on. We bought Admission tickets to the big things that we wanted to see and we saw them ourselves. These included The Vatican, Vatican Museums (which includes the Sistine Chapel), The Colosseum, The Roman Forum, and Palatine Hill. All were incredible experiences and if you have never been, then go! We paid 50 Euro Total for the Vatican/Vatican Museum, and 40 Euro total for the remaining 3. Just for those of you who are interested. You do not need tickets for St. Peters Basilica, The long line outside is for security. Again. Very worth the wait.

Our Tour booked us at the H10 Roma Citta Hotel, which is on the other side of the river, but was a beautiful hotel. I actually had a dream last night about their breakfast…oh my word. It was phenomenal. We had a roof top pool, and a gorgeous view of the City.

Our first full day was spent in Vatican city. I was unaware of the beauty of Italy at this point and spent the day simply in awe. When did we quit using such beautiful, ornate buildings for their intended purpose and make them into museums? Seeing St. Peters Basilica was definitely a highlight for me. I was overwhelmed with the beauty. Overwhelmed with the grandeur.  Overwhelmed by God. not only is is huge and very grand, but it is so peaceful. Such a place of safety and warmth. The museums were full of architecture and history and the most beautiful frescoes you have ever seen! They were incredible!

One of my favorite things in the Vatican Museum was the hall of maps. I find it absolutely intriguing how they had no way of seeing an aerial view, yet their maps were so accurate. And gorgeous.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My brain is still too full to put into words what it was like. But there were all sorts of little quirks about Italy in general that I LOVE! For one. They have these beautiful fountains everywhere that everyone drinks from. Some are really simple. In the Colosseum, they just had water hoses.  But some are built into walls, surrounded by trees, built into statues, or simply resting in a piazza. Regardless, they are these fountains of beautiful, cool water that the whole city enjoys. The water in Italy is safe to drink, and it was such a welcoming sight to find one of these life-giving rivers. I know it is a simple thing…but, hand in hand with being incredibly economical and green, they are inviting. They are a place where people who don’t speak the same language or come from the same place, gather. Because we all need one thing…Water..Reminds me of Jesus…

 

So many things to write. But that should keep you busy for a little while! Ciao!

2 thoughts on “The Italia Adventure.

Leave a Reply

