Creamed Spinach.

1003263_10151643318574720_2087702878_n

I am all for more cream, more cheese, more southern comfort food. With a mother from Buffalo and a father from Kansas. Southerninity is greatly lacking in our home. Except when I am in the kitchen. I like my grits with cheese in them, my friend chicken with gravy, and I like a little tea with my sugar. Peaches and rhubarb are my favorite summer treats and everybody is a “babe”, “sweetie”, or “honey”. It’s just how it goes. I’m a barefoot, summer, southern girl and I am so okay with all of the ridiculous comments that come with that. I’m a hick and I know it. All that being said. Here is a delicious recipe for

Creamed Spinach!

1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1/2 cup half and half
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 onion, minced
2 bunches spinach, stemmed and chopped
3 tablespoons freshly grated Pecorino Romano cheese

Melt the butter over medium-high heat. Add the flour and cook, stirring constantly, until smooth, about 30 seconds. Add the milk and nutmeg and whisk constantly until the mixture thickens, about 1 minute.

Heat the oil in a medium saute pan over medium-high heat. Add the garlic and onions and cook until soft, about 2 minutes. Add the chopped spinach and cook until warmed through. Stir the spinach into the milk mixture. Top with the cheese and serve.

Bon Appetite!

Leave a Reply

