Peaches & Strawberries.

7884_10151620099539720_661307365_n

 

One of my favorite things about summer is fresh produce. The best part of my day starts when I get to go out to the garden and plan dinner around what is ready to harvest. This year we have an abundance of fresh, organic veggies, and I am thrilled to turn them into culinary masterpieces. I’ve become an even bigger advocate for fresh herbs, and I am….oh. I am just in love!

I am going to TRY to faithfully blog about my favorite creations, and this is the first!!!!!!

Grilled Peaches & Strawberries 

1 pound of strawberries, hulled & halved

4 large peaches, sliced

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup of basil, chopped

dash of cinnamon

dash of nutmeg

dash of vanilla

Gently mix it all together and let it set in the fridge for at least an hour, longer if you so choose. You can cook and serve it right away, but I like to let the fruit & basil mellow together for a better flavor. You can do this on a grill, or in the broiler. Make  a “bowl” out of foil and either set it on the grill of put it on a cookie sheet under the broiler. Keep a close eye on it and when the sugar starts to caramelize you are good to go. I served it over vanilla ice cream, but it would also be fantastic with some fresh whipped cream or just a dash of heavy cream.  Really easy, really fresh. SO yummy!

Bon Appetite!

Leave a Reply

