For the love of vintage & flying.

ae14

If you have ever read this blog you know I am all about goals. I love having something to reach for, something to achieve, something that drives me to work harder, and to be diligent in all that I do. I”m also a sucker for poetry, in case you couldn’t tell by that last sentence. I blame being home-schooled and not having enough good novels to read as a child…Moving on. Today, I get to “get at” one of my life goals. One of those things you get to knock off whatever kind of bucket list you made in high school. Today, I get my first flying lesson! Thanks to my brother, Matt, I get to get in a plane today! Do or die, I am going to have an entire hour of in air flight time! I am so pumped!

My obsession with flying, I’m sure, has always been there. I won tickets to the flying circus as a kid, always begged my parents to go to the air shows, and while I”m sure I loved the idea of flying, at that age I more loved just getting out of the house and seeing something new. As the years went on, I just wanted to be able to flee. To go anywhere. Driving became my obvious mode of escape, but oh, what a joy it would be to FLY! When the movie Amelia came out, I remember waiting until my roommate was gone, and my best friend was out of town. I smuggled that sucker up into my room and sat in awe for all 111 minutes of that glorious film. I cried like a baby in the end, and then I watched it again. That weekend I probably watched the film Amelia 15 times. I read everything that I could about her, and I made absolutely sure that I knew every detail I could find about this brave female pilot. Call me obsessed. If she were still alive you can bet your bottom dollar that I would be knocking on her door. Expert stalker here.

All that to say, I am very excited to be able to knock something off my bucket list today! As a private business owner, I am so thankful that I am able to take these opportunities! That my job allows me to take half a day off to accomplish my dreams. This is why I do what I do. For the love of vintage and flying. Blog and Photos to follow later!

Leave a Reply

