Crunch Time & Copious Amounts of Coffee

There is not a day that goes by when I don’t literally thank God for coffee. It is a lifesaver. Literally. Maybe not mine, but those of you who have to interact with me, it is saving your lives 😉 I’m a thankful girl.

 

As the time for the festival is drawing closer, I am in a tizzy of preparation. I am loving every minute of it!!! Taking inventory, making signs and banners, thinking through every detail of how this event will go, I can’t sleep at night because I have new ideas and new worries. I keep forgetting to eat because I’m so busy labeling inventory and trying to make sure that every detail is perfect. For the first time ever Vintage Pod will have a physical location. It sounds so simple. But over the past 2 years I’ve never looked my customers in the eye and seen the joy that they find in the items I have lovingly brought to their attention. I send them pretty little packages, and sometimes, if I am lucky I get a note in reply. But I don’t get to see them. I don’t get to see where all my little treasures find a home. This weekend, that all changes. I get to see the new owners of my beloved bits of vintage love.

 

This morning I woke up and all that I could think about was that day 2 years ago when Halee Janes called me up and gave me the great idea for Vintage Pod. I thought it would be a great way to make a little spare change, a way to do what I liked to do, a way to have a creative outlet. Two years ago, I never imagined that it would be the one thing that my dreams are made of. I never thought my heart would be so content in taking my business to the next level. This weekend is the next level.

 

When Halee and I started my business, we spent an entire evening in the Relentless office in Downtown Jackson, doing whatever we could to come up with a name. We tried everything. Everything from my name, Rachel Chambers, to Vintage Shenanigans (so thankful we vetoed with that one!). We used dictionaries and stick charades, we used everything you could ever imagine to come up with a name and settled on Vintage Pod. The name that now, 2 years later, I am in love with. Vintage Pod is more than a name..It is a legacy! MY legacy. After choosing my name, Halee made me the most beautiful and creative business cards and logos I could ever imagine! She gave life to the name and face of Vintage Pod.

I started with 10 items in my inventory. I made my first sale to my little brother 3 months after I opened my store. I now have over 400 items in my inventory, and make sales every week. What started out as a nice little hobby has turned into my life. My Dream. My adventure. I feel like this weekend my baby is all grown up. It’s a new season. That is for sure!

Thank you so much to everyone who has helped make this weekend possible for me; thank you for your lovingly support and encouragement in this endeavor!

2 thoughts on “Crunch Time & Copious Amounts of Coffee

  1. I am so excited that you are bringing Vintage Pod to this upcoming festival! I know you are going to have a blast, and I know that if I were there, I would have so much fun looking through all of those vintage treasures. I can’t wait to hear how it goes!!

Leave a Reply

